We just received two new releases from Lucky Records in Reykjavík. What we are talking about are the fine releases by one Tómas Jónsson and cinematic kraut rockers The Ghost Choir.

The Ghost Choir is a super group of sorts and features members of Epic Rain, amiina, ADHD, Samúel Jón Samúelsson Big Band, John Grant and Lhooq. This is their first album. And it’s here

Tómas Jónsson

This Tómas Jónsson’s second solo album and it is made up with futuristic blend of cinematic jazz, synth pop and electronics. Playing with Tómas are Magnús Trygvason Elíasen (ADHD, amiina, Moses Hightower), Ásgeir Trausti, Guðmundur Óskar Guðmundsson (Hjaltalín), Guðmundur Kristinn Jónsson (Hjálmar) and Kristinn Snær Agnarsson (John Grant).

“Tómas is one of the most promising young pianists in Iceland today. He graduated from The FÍH School of Music in 2012 and was nominated for the Icelandic Music Prize as the most promising jazz artist that same year. Tómas is one of the most sought-after keyboard player in Iceland in the field of pop, blues and jazz music and has played with bands like ADHD, Fjallabræður and Dusty Miller.”

It’s here in the shop